NCERT, CBSE Class 4 English Syllabus and Chapter names in the NCERT Workbook 2023-24

Class 4 English Syllabus Overview for 2023-24

Vocabulary: Reciting poems, short skits, respond to simple instructions, answering questions related to day-to-day life experiences, an article, story, or a poem. Riddles, tongue twisters, crossword puzzles, building word chain etc are also introduced here. Learning new words is very integral here. Using a dictionary is also taught at this stage.

Reading: Reading comprehension passages, understanding them and answering the questions related to the main idea, brief and conclusion. Reads titles of books, news headlines, advertisements etc. Reading passages with proper punctuation, stress, tone etc is practiced here.

Writing: Writing personal experiences, writing about places visited, personal experience or events. Writing short paragraphs is taught here. Writing informal messages is introduced now.

Grammar: Punctuation marks including question mark, comma and full stop is emphasized at this stage. Conjunction (linkers), nouns, verbs, adjectives, preposition

Speaking: Speaking in English is emphasized here on familiar issues like water, electricity, social issues, personal experience visiting a place to see like a zoo or a fair etc. Creating and presenting a short speech.

Practice Worksheets for Class 4 English

Click here to practice many FREE worksheets on all the above topics and more for Grade 4 Click Here..

Best English Worksheets for Class 4 NCERT, CBSE, SCERT syllabus

All the above topics of the syllabus are well covered in and you can subscribe now for just Rs 2000 a year and access unlimited download to 6000 plus Maths and English worksheets for Grade 1 to Grade 6. Worksheets in are created by a team of experienced teachers and edited by Mrs Lakshmi Chintaluri, an experienced and retired Vice Principal of a leading CBSE school with experience in India and overseas. The designs are unique and student friendly. You can print or use even without printing

NCERT Class 4 English books Chapter names for 2023-24

The Marigold NCERT book for Class 4 English has 9 units and subunits and here are the names for your quick reference

Unit 1: 1. Wake Up!
Unit 1: 2. Nehas Alarm Clock
Unit 2: 1. Noses
Unit 2: 2. The Little Fir Tree
Unit 3: 1. Run!
Unit 3: 2. Nasruddinss Aim
Unit 4: 1. Why?
Unit 4: 2. Alice in Wonderland
Unit 5: 1. Dont be Afraid of the Dark
Unit 5: 2. Helen Keller
Unit 6: 1. Hiawatha
Unit 6: 2. The Scholars Mother Tongue
Unit 7: 1. A Watering Rhyme
Unit 7: 2. The Giving Tree
Unit 8: 1. Books
Unit 8: 2. Going to Buy a Book
Unit 9: 1. The Naughty Boy
Unit 9: 2. Pinocchio

Contact us:

To avail the benefits of fun-filled learning for your child, click here to subscribe now to the package.